Healing Voices

Healing Voices received the 2008 Outstanding Sponsorship Award from the Association of Canadian Choral Conductors. This recording is sold through a partnership with the Callanish Society.

SKU: CCR0602 - released 2006 Categories: ,

Chor Leoni undertook the Healing Voices project at the request of music therapist Valerie Weeks, as a service to music therapists and others who work in the patient and people care field. Valerie and others have remarked on the special effect which male choral singing has for patients and clients. She and other music therapists and caregivers have used Chor Leoni recordings in their work in areas such as hospices and palliative care. Healing Voices is a compilation of previously released tracks, live performances, and new recordings selected by Valerie and our artistic director, Diane Loomer.

Chor Leoni has made the decision to release this CD as a non-profit enterprise and for this reason, it will not be available via the e-commerce section of the choir’s web site. Everyone involved with the project, including conductor, producer, instrumentalists, singers, composers, arrangers, photographers, proofreaders, graphic artists, CD manufacturer, choir volunteers, distributors, and therapists (to name most, but not all) have donated their time, expertise, and devotion to allow us to sell it at cost.

Organizations and individuals working in the patient and people care field (music therapists, hospices, long-term and palliative care societies, and the like) may obtain copies of the CD at cost (plus shipping charges) directly from Chor Leoni.

Contact us at

Chor Leoni
949 W 49th Ave
Vancouver BC V5Z 2T1

 All others may obtain the CD by sending $20 BY CHEQUE ONLY (please put “Healing Voices” on memo line), payable to “Callanish Society,” together with name, full postal address and e-mail address to:

The Callanish Society
2277 West 10th Avenue
Vancouver, BC
Canada V6K 2J1

The choir is very pleased that the Callanish Society has agreed to be a partner in the Healing Voices project. Part of the $20.00 charge for each CD will be retained by the Society to help sustain its operations, part will be forwarded to Chor Leoni to cover the cost of CD + shipping charges. Chor Leoni has chosen Callanish as a partner because we believe that the Society and its good work exemplify the spirit in which this project was launched. For more information on the Callanish Society, please visit their website.

Track List


  1. Bright Morning Star – Appalachian traditional, arr. Fred Squatrito
  2. Rise Again – Leon Dubinsky, arr. Stephen Smith
  3. Suo Gân – Welsh lullaby, arr. Lawrence Wilford
  4. Drink To Me Only With Thine Eyes – English traditional
  5. Die Nacht, D983 – Franz Schubert
  6. Goin’ Home – Antonín Dvořák
  7. How Sweet the Moonlight Sleeps – Michael Head, arr. Stephen Smith
  8. Wood River – Connie Kaldor, arr. Willi Zwozdesky
  9. Away From the Roll of the Sea – Allister MacGillivray, arr. Diane Loomer
  10. Loch Lomond – Scottish traditional, arr. Jonathan Quick
  11. Te Quiero – Alberto Favero, arr. Robert Sund and Ken Cormier
  12. Shenandoah – American traditional, arr. James Erb
  13. The Water is Wide – Somerset folk song, arr. Miles Ramsay
  14. Song For the Mira – Allister MacGillivray, arr. Stuart Calvert


  1. Precious Lord – Thomas A. Dorsey, arr. Diane Loomer
  2. O Vos Omnes – Pablo Casals, arr. Diane Loomer
  3. We Shall Walk Through the Valley – American spiritual, arr. William Appling
  4. Beata Viscera – Perotin
  5. Ave Maris Stella – Gregorian chant, arr. Diane Loomer
  6. Letabundus – Sarum chant
  7. Abide With Me – William Henry Monk
  8. Magnificat – Healey Willan
  9. Lux Aeterna – Gregorian chant
  10. Over Yonder – American spiritual, arr. Diane Loomer
  11. Cantique de Jean Racine – Gabriel Fauré
  12. Veni Redemptor Gencium – Sarum chant
  13. Dostoyno Yest – Nikolai Golovanov
  14. Svete Tihiy – Aleksandr Nikolsky, arr. Pavel Chesnokov
  15. Alma Redemptoris Mater – Gregorian chant
  16. Amazing Grace – Traditional, arr. Robert Sund


Catalogue number

CCR0801 – released 1995