Songs of War & Peace

  • Buy on iTunes

Songs of War & Peace

Chor Leoni gave its first Remembrance Day concert in 1993, remembering and honouring those who have fought and died in defence of our country.The concert struck a receptive chord with Vancouver audiences and it quickly became established as an annual fixture in the Lower Mainland’s choral season.Released in June 1995, this CD presents material from Chor Leoni’s first two Remembrance Day concerts, songs that have become favourites of both the choir and audiences alike.

Track List

  1. For the Fallen Mike Sammes
  2. In Flanders Fields John McCrae
  3. A Stopwatch and an Ordnance Map Samuel Barber
  4. Blow Ye the Trumpet Kirke Mechem
  5. Parti de mal Anonymous, trouvère crusade song
  6. Il Brivido Marco Enrico Bossi
  7. Soldiers' Chorus (from Faust) Charles Gounod
  8. Varjele, Jumala, Soasta Veljo Tormis
  9. Una Sañosa Porfía Juan del Encino
  10. Danny Deever Percy Grainger
  11. An Irish Airman Foresees His Death Byron Adams
  12. Sydämeni Laulu Jean Sibelius
  13. And the Band Played Waltzing Matilda Eric Bogle
  14. Lili Marlene - Songs Soldiers Sing
  15. Scots Wha Hae - Songs Soldiers Sing
  16. It's a Long Way to Tipperary - Songs Soldiers Sing
  17. White Cliffs of Dover - Songs Soldiers Sing
  18. Pack up your Troubles - Songs Soldiers Sing
  19. We'll Meet Again - Songs Soldiers Sing
  20. The Minstrel Boy Irish traditional, arr. Ron Jeffers
  21. Over Yonder American spiritual, arr. Diane Loomer
  22. We Shall Walk Through the Valley in Peace American spiritual, arr. William Appling


+ Add a Review

  1. Songs of War & Peace is a poignant and powerful collection of works about conflict, remembrance and regret from a variety of composers, poets, and authors. This is a superb ensemble whose depth of delivery takes the listener into the emotional essence of each work. Each selection has enough strength and content to carry the CD on its own.

    Ray Chatelin
    Vancouver Province 1995

    —Ray Chatelin |
    How helpful was this review?

Add Your Review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.